Feist, Japandroids, Leonard Cohen on 2017 Polaris Prize longlist

Avatar photo

The Polaris Music Prize, which honors the best Canadian album of the year, has just released its longlist for 2017. The list features 40 albums, and includes some notable names. Among them are Mac DeMarco’s This Old Dog, Feist’s Pleasure, Japandroids’ Near to the Wild Heart of Life and the late Leonard Cohen’s You Want It Darker. Take a look at the full list below and at the Polaris Prize website.

The short list will be announced on July 13, and the Polaris Prize Gala will be held in Toronto on September 18.

Polaris Prize nominees:

A Tribe Called Red – We Are The Halluci Nation
Alaclair Ensemble – Les Frères Cueilleurs
Anciients – Voice of the Void
Arkells – Morning Report
Philippe B – La grande nuit vidéo
Louise Burns – Young Mopes
Chocolat – Rencontrer Looloo
Clairmont The Second – Quest For Milk and Honey
Leonard Cohen – You Want It Darker
Antoine Corriveau – Cette chose qui cognait au creux de sa poitrine sans vouloir s’arrêter
Le Couleur – P.O.P.
Marie Davidson – Adieux Au Dancefloor
Mac DeMarco – This Old Dog
Gord Downie – Secret Path
Drake – More Life
Feist – Pleasure
Figure Walking – The Big Other
Fiver – Audible Songs From Rockwood
Geoffroy – Coastline
Hannah Georgas – For Evelyn
Japandroids – Near To The Wild Heart Of Life
Carly Rae Jepsen – E.MO.TION Side B
B.A. Johnston – Gremlins III
Lisa LeBlanc – Why You Wanna Leave, Runaway Queen?
The New Pornographers – Whiteout Conditions
Klô Pelgag – L’Étoile thoracique
Peter Peter – Noir Éden
Lido Pimienta – La Papessa
Jessie Reyez – Kiddo
Daniel Romano – Modern Pressure
The Sadies – Northern Passages
John K. Samson – Winter Wheat
Tanya Tagaq – Retribution
The Tragically Hip – Man Machine Poem
Leif Vollebekk – Twin Solitude
Weaves – Weaves
The Weeknd – Starboy
Charlotte Day Wilson – CDW

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top