Amen Dunes announces new album, Death Jokes

Avatar photo
Amen Dunes

Amen Dunes has announced a new album. On May 10, Damon McMahon will release Death Jokes via Sub Pop. The first single from the album is “Purple Land.” Check out its video below.

McMahon said in a statement, “’Purple Land’ is one of the album’s interstitial character portraits: first of a child, then the narrator, and then of an empowered figure as they all navigate and find liberation from the disconnection and disenchantment of an uncertain world. It begins first as a song to my daughter about life on earth, offering platitudes, warnings, and guidance through its various stages, until it becomes a reflection on the narrator’s own uncertainties as he moves through the world, ending finally with a character Rhea Anne who exemplifies liberation from it all in a moment of simple reckless freedom, as the beat drops in the final minute of the song.”

Amen Dunes’ last album was 2018’s Freedom.

Amen Dunes Death Jokes tracklist:

1. Death Jokes
2. Ian
3. Joyrider
4. What I Want
5. Rugby Child
6. Boys
7. Exodus
8. Predator
9. Solo Tape
10. Purple Land
11. I Don’t Mind
12. Mary Anne
13. Round the World
14. Poor Cops

Amen Dunes tour dates:

May 8 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
May 10 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Bellwether
May 15 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
Jul. 1 – Paris, FR @ Trabendo
Jul. 3 – Berlin, DE @ Gretchen
Jul. 5 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Jul. 7 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Jul. 9 – London, UK @ KOKO

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top