Album Reviews

darkest hour perpetual terminal review

Darkest Hour : Perpetual | Terminal

Rife with nuance and sophistication, the D.C. death metal band’s latest showcases their unique knack for melodic heavy music

Eye Flys review

Eye Flys : Eye Flys

A punchy and thrilling sub-half-hour of noise rock

The Body Dis Fig Orchards of a Futile Heaven

The Body & Dis Fig : Orchards of a Futile Heaven

A collaborative triumph of extreme aesthetics.

Pissed Jeans Half Divorced review

Pissed Jeans : Half Divorced

Seven years after their last album, the noise rock vets return with some of their angriest material

Ihsahn Ihsahn review

Ihsahn : Ihsahn

Released as both symphonic metal and pure orchestrations, ‘Ihsahn’ is the black metal legend at his most prog

Amiture Mother Engine review

Amiture : Mother Engine

The New York duo’s sophomore album captures an intoxicating atmosphere of danger

Idles TANGK review

Idles : TANGK

The Bristol group reinvent the love song on their fifth album

Helado Negro Phasor review

Helado Negro : Phasor

Roberto Carlos Lange returns with a vivacious and life-affirming set of songs

El Perro Del Mar Big Anonymous review

El Perro Del Mar : Big Anonymous

A haunting and beautifully elegiac set of meditations on grief

Torres what an enormous room review

TORRES : What an enormous room

A big, brash, sometimes beautiful album that nonetheless carries diminishing returns

Middle Kids Faith Crisis Pt 1 review

Middle Kids : Faith Crisis Pt 1

The Australian group continue to refine and energize their indie pop sound

serpentwithfeet grip

serpentwithfeet : GRIP

An open-hearted and progressive new frontier for pop

Omni souvenir review

Omni : Souvenir

The Atlanta trio balance uptempo groove with lyrical reflection on their fourth album

The Last Dinner Party Prelude to Ecstasy review

The Last Dinner Party : Prelude to Ecstasy

A high-drama, but highly promising debut

J Mascis What Do We Do Now

J Mascis : What Do We Do Now

A solid record that lives in the shadow of a towering catalog

KMFDM Let Go review

KMFDM : Let Go

As the industrial legends reach their 40th anniversary, they more openly embrace pop on album number 23

Angry Blackmen the legend of ABM review

Angry Blackmen : The Legend of ABM

A harsh and important addition to a cacophonous hip-hop canon

Sleater-Kinney Little Rope review

Sleater-Kinney : Little Rope

Grief hangs heavy on the 11th album from the indie rock stalwarts

Sprints Letter to Self review

Sprints : Letter to Self

A fiery debut album full of joy and anger