Iggy Pop announces new album, Free

Avatar photo
Iggy Pop new album Free

Iggy Pop has announced a new album. On September 6, he’ll release Free via Loma Vista. The first track he’s released is titled “Free,” and you can hear it below.

Iggy released a statement about the album. In a press release he says, “This is an album in which other artists speak for me, but I lend my voice…

By the end of the tours following Post Pop Depression, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long.

But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free. I know that’s an illusion, and that freedom is only something you feel, but I have lived my life thus far in the belief that that feeling is all that is worth pursuing; all that you need – not happiness or love necessarily, but the feeling of being free.

So this album just kind of happened to me, and I let it happen.”

Free follows 2016’s Post Pop Depression.

Iggy Pop Free tracklist:

1. Free
2. Loves Missing
3. Sonali
4. James Bond
5. Dirty Sanchez
6. Glow In The Dark
7. Page
8. We Are The People
9. Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night
10. The Dawn

Iggy Pop’s “Dum Dum Boys” is on our list of 10 Essential Self-Referential Songs.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top