Nick Cave announces new spoken word album, Seven Psalms

Avatar photo

Nick Cave has announced a new album of spoken word pieces, titled Seven Psalms. The album is out June 17 and features seven spoken word pieces set to music, in collaboration with Warren Ellis. It also features one 12-minute instrumental track.

“While in lockdown I wrote a number of psalms, or small, sacred songs—one a day for a week,” Cave says in a statement. “The seven psalms are presented as one long meditation—on faith, rage, love, grief, mercy, sex, and praise. A veiled, contemplative offering borne of an uncertain time. I hope you like it.”

Check out the tracklist and trailer below. Nick Cave and Warren Ellis’ last album was 2021’s Carnage.

Nick Cave Seven Psalms tracklist:

How Long Have I Waited?
Have Mercy On Me
I Have Trembled My Way Deep
I Have Wandered All My Unending Days
Splendour, Glorious Splendour
Such Things Should Never Happen
I Come Alone And To You
Psalm Instrumental

Nick Cave and Kylie Minogue’s “Where the Wild Roses Grow” is featured on our list of 10 Essential Duets.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top