Sharon Van Etten announces epic Ten reissue, featuring covers by Fiona Apple, IDLES, Lucinda Williams

Avatar photo
Sharon Van Etten epic ten reissue

Sharon Van Etten has announced a new reissue of her 2010 album epic, titled epic Ten, which will be released as a double album on April 16 via Ba Da Bing, digitally, and then physically on June 11. The bonus disc features a set of covers of the seven songs on the album by Fiona Apple, Shamir, Courtney Barnett with Vagabon, IDLES, Big Red Machine, St. Panther and Lucinda Williams. The first track to be released from the album is Big Red Machine’s cover of “A Crime.” Hear it below.

The group’s Aaron Dessner says in a statement, “Sharon is one of my favorite songwriters and I’ve been very lucky to get to collaborate with her many times over the years. Recording ‘A Crime’ with Justin, more than 10 years after we covered ‘Love More’ at Music Now with my brother Bryce – and thinking about all our shared memories – it felt like coming full circle. It’s an honor to be able to pay tribute to Sharon and her incredible songs. We felt like the door should be about to fall off the hinges of this version and I think it sounds like that.”

Sharon Van Etten’s last album was 2019’s Remind Me Tomorrow.

Sharon Van Etten epic Ten tracklist (covers):

1. “A Crime” – Big Red Machine
2. “Peace Signs” – IDLES
3. “Save Yourself” – Lucinda Williams
4. “DsharpG” – Shamir
5. “Don’t Do It” – Courtney Barnett (ft. Vagabon)
6. “One Day” – St. Panther
7. “Love More” – Fiona Apple

Sharon Van Etten’s “Seventeen” is featured on our list, A History of Synth-Pop in 50 Essential Tracks.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top