Hear a new song from Sweet Cobra, “Soft 11,” featuring Matt Talbott of Hum

Avatar photo
Sweet Cobra

On November 11, Sweet Cobra will release new album Threes via Pax Aeternum, and on vinyl early next year via Hawthorne Street. Today, the group have shared a new song from the album, “Soft 11,” which features Hum‘s Matt Talbott. It’s a roaring, psychedelic stoner rock track with big riffs and, naturally, elements of Hum’s shoegazing post-hardcore maximalism, crunchy and atmospheric in equal measure. Somehow both dreamy and heavy all at once.

Sweet Cobra guitarist Robert Lanham said in a statement, “Working with Matt at Earth Analog and getting to know him over the last 10 years has been really meaningful to us. Being from the Midwest we got to see Hum live a lot and really take in their approach. Definitely spent a lot of time with their records. ‘Soft 11’ is a great example of the influence they have had on us, so it felt natural that he had ideas for it and joined in on the track. We sort of started this tradition on our last album ‘Earth’ where he also contributed vocals and guitar on ‘Sunburned Sons,’ and ‘Walls’ so he feels like a fourth member of our band at this point.” 

Earlier this year, Sweet Cobra’s Jason Gagovski told us about his favorite song by Jason Molina.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top