Details of Dirty Beaches instrumental album, Stateless, emerge

Avatar photo
Dirty Beaches stateless

Alex Zhang Hungtai, a.k.a. Dirty Beaches, recently released a teaser for a new album that he said would be entirely instrumental, and now the details of that album have emerged. Dirty Beaches’ all-instrumental follow-up to last year’s Drifters/Love Is the Devil is titled Stateless, and it’s scheduled for release on Nov. 4 via Zoo Music. The album has only four tracks, which are most likely fairly long, and features Italian composer Vittorio Demarin on viola. Hungtai plays synthesizer and tenor saxophone.

Hungtai released a statement about the album:

All seasons are cyclical, like real life shit. We adapt and venture through each phase with intentions of engagement, embracing mistakes and chances that eventually become the foundation of identities and roles we take on in life. All pain is temporary, as in joy, anger, doubt and all human emotions. Nothing is forever. Just a constant cyclical randomization processed in patterns and algorithms. We can’t predict life, but we can try to brace ourselves for the ever changing tides of time.

Some dreams, are worth breaking your limbs for.

Dedicated to ALL the young gods out there.


Alex Zhang Hungtai
June 13th, 2014. Lisbon, Portugal

Check out the tracklist below, and stream new track “Displaced.”

Dirty Beaches Stateless:

1 Displaced
2 Stateless
3 Pacific Ocean
4 Time Washes Away Everything

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top