Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Purity Ring on Polaris Prize shortlist

Avatar photo
Polaris Prize

This year’s short list of nominees for the 2013 Polaris Prize, which honors the best album of the year made by a Canadian artist, has been released. The list was trimmed down from a much longer one released in June, and is now a slim, mean 10 albums. Here are the nominees:

Godspeed You! Black Emperor’s ALLELUJAH! DON’T BEND! ASCEND!
Zaki Ibrahim’s Every Opposite
Metric’s Synthetica
Metz’s Metz
Purity Ring’s Shrines
Colin Stetson’s New History Warfare 3: To See More Light
Tegan and Sara’s Heartthrob
A Tribe Called Red’s Nation II Nation
Whitehorse’s The Fate of the World Depends on This Kiss
Young Galaxy’s Ultramarine

The original long list, released last month, included Rhye’s Woman, Mac DeMarco’s 2, KEN Mode’s Entrench, Majical Cloudz’s Impersonator, Daphni’s JIAOLONG, and many, many others. Of course, as much as we love those albums, they’ve already been cut, so FINE! Be that way.

The awards ceremony and gala will be held Sept. 23, at which point the winner will be revealed and will receive $30,000.

Scroll To Top