Iron & Wine announce new album, ‘Ghost on Ghost’

Avatar photo
Iron and Wine

Revered indie folkster Sam Beam & Co., aka Iron & Wine, are back with new music in 2013. Ghost on Ghost, the follow-up to 2011’s Kiss Each Other Clean, is out April 16 in the U.S. via Nonesuch Records, and a day earlier in the rest of the world via 4AD. Below, check out the tracklist, album cover and new song “Lovers’ Revolution.”

The album was produced by Brian Deck, and features a long list of guest musicians, including Rob Burger of Tin Hat Trio, Steve Bernstein, Tony Scherr, Kenny Wollesen, and Briggan Krauss of Sex Mob, jazz drummer Brian Blade, trombonist Curtis Fowlkes of the Jazz Passengers, bassist Tony Garnier (Bob Dylan’s band), cellist Marika Hughes, Maxim Moston and Doug Wieselman of Antony and the Johnsons, and Anja Wood.

A press release states that the album is a move away from the “anxious tension” of the last two records, and Beam describes it as “a reward to myself after the way I went about making the last few.”

Ghost on Ghost


1 Caught in the Briars
2 The Desert Babbler
3 Joy
4 Low Light Buddy of Mine
5 Graces for Saints and Ramblers
6 Grass Windows
7 Singers and the Endless Song
8 Sundown (Back in the Briars)
9 Winter Prayers
10 New Mexico’s No Breeze
11 Lovers’ Revolution
12 Baby Center Stage

Scroll To Top