Jon Hopkins announces new album, Music for Psychedelic Therapy

Avatar photo
jon hopkins music for psychedelic therapy

Jon Hopkins has announced a new album. On November 12 (and February 11 on vinyl) Hopkins will release Music for Psychedelic Therapy via Domino. The album was inspired by an experience that Hopkins had in Tayos Caves in Ecuador. The first track he’s shared from the album is “Sit Around the Fire,” which features late spiritual guru Ram Dass and artist East Forest.

Hopkins says in a press release, “Music For Psychedelic Therapy is not ambient, classical or drone but has elements of all three. For me it’s a place as much as it is a sound. It works for the sober mind, but takes on a new dimension entirely when brought into a psychedelic ceremony. In my own psychedelic explorations testing this music, I found a quote I had read would keep coming to mind. ‘Music is liquid architecture, architecture is frozen music.’ I love this idea of music as something you inhabit, something that works on you energetically. In fact, it was while in that state that the title appeared to me. Psychedelic-assisted therapies are moving into legality across the world, and yet it feels like no one is talking about the music; the music is as important as the medicine.”

Music for Psychedelic Therapy follows Hopkins’ 2018 album Singularity.

music for psychedelic therapy

Jon Hopkins Music for Psychedelic Therapy tracklist:

1. Welcome
2. Tayos Caves, Ecuador i
3. Tayos Caves, Ecuador ii
4. Tayos Caves, Ecuador iii
5. Love Flows Over Us In Prismatic Waves
6. Deep In The Glowing Heart
7. Ascending, Dawn Sky
8. Arriving
9. Sit Around The Fire (with Ram Dass, East Forest)

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top