Saul Williams, L’Rain and more pay tribute to Sun Ra’s poetry on My Words Are Music

Avatar photo
My Words Are Music Sun Ra poetry

Omni Sound has announced a new album celebrating Sun Ra‘s poetry, featuring a variety of artists inspired by the late jazz legend. My Words Are Music: A Celebration of Sun Ra’s Poetry will be released August 25 digitally and October 27 in physical formats, and includes recitations by the likes of Saul Williams, L’Rain, TV on the Radio’s Tunde Adebimpe, Sun Ra Arkestra’s longtime bandleader Marshall Allen, Mahogany L. Browne, Carl Hancock Rux and more. Hear “When Angels Speak” by Saul Williams below, in a visualizer featuring cool space-age animation from Mertcan Mertbilek.

Sun Ra Arkestra’s last album was 2022’s Living Sky. Read our Beginner’s Guide to the music of Sun Ra.

My Words Are Music tracklist:

Side A:

1. Marshall Allen – “EVI Introduction”
2. Saul Williams – “When Angels Speak”
3. Mahogany L. Browne – “Circle Eternity”
4. Anthony Joseph – “The Three Dimensions of Air”
5. Melanie Charles – “[Anything can give up its life]”
6. Abiodun Oyewole – “Somebody Else’s Idea”
7. Tara Middleton – “I Have Forgotten”
8. Jive Poetic – “Flight”
9. L’Rain – “Love in Outer Space”
10. Tunde Adebimpe – “The Endless Realm”
11. Zakia Sewell – “The Cosmic Age”
12. Cal Hancock Rux – “Sun-Day”
13. Knoel Scott & Marshall Allen – “The Melody of Air”

Side B:

1. Anthony Joseph – “The Invisible Giants”
2. L’Rain – “I Deal In Souls”
3. Tunde Adebimpe – “Black Prince Charming”
4. Mahogany L. Browne – “Message to Black Youth”
5. Jive Poetic – “Nothing Is”
6. Melanie Charles – “The Friends of Skill”
7. Saul Williams – “The Outer Darkness”
8. Zakia Sewell – “If I Told You”
9. Carl Hancock Rux – “The Void”
10. Knoel Scott & Marshall Allen – “The Neglected Plane of Wisdom”

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top