Superchunk’s Mac McCaughan announces new solo album, The Sound of Yourself

Avatar photo
Mac McCaughan best songs Superchunk Portastatic

Superchunk’s Mac McCaughan has announced a new solo album. On September 24, he’ll release The Sound of Yourself via Merge Records. The album includes appearances from his Superchunk bandmate Jon Wurster, as well as Yo La Tengo, Torres’ Mackenzie Scott, Mary Lattimore and others. The first single he’s shared is titled “Dawn Bends,” featuring Yo La Tengo, and you can hear it below.

McCaughan is also touring this fall. Check out those dates below.

In 2019, McCaughan collaborated with Mary Lattimore on New Rain Duets. Superchunk’s last album was 2018’s What A Time to Be Alive.

The Sound of Yourself

Mac McCaughan The Sound of Yourself tracklist:

  1. Moss Light
  2. The Sound of Yourself
  3. I Hear a Radio
  4. 36 and Rain
  5. Burn a Fax
  6. Gen Ash
  7. Circling Around
  8. R Dream
  9. Sleep Donor
  10. Dawn Bends
  11. Found Cricket

Mac McCaughan tour dates:

9/23 Wilmington, DE – The Queen*
9/24 Holyoke, MA – Gateway City Arts Center*
9/25 Woodstock, NY – Levon Helm Studios*
9/26 Bethlehem, PA – Musikfest Cafe at the ArtsQuest*
9/28 Brooklyn, NY – Union Pool^
9/29 Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brenda’s^
9/30 Washington, DC – DC9^
10/1 Richmond, VA – Richmond Music Hall^
10/2 Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle Back Room^

* solo performance w/ John Darnielle (the Mountain Goats)
^ full-band performance w/ 75 Dollar Bil

Superchunk are featured on our list, Merge Records: 30 Years, 30 Tracks.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top