Sun Kil Moon announces new album, Universal Themes

Avatar photo
Sun Kil Moon

After spending 2014 supporting his beautifully sad album Benji and trolling The War on Drugs, Sun Kil Moon’s Mark Kozelek has announced that he’s planning to release a new album in 2015. On June 2, Sun Kil Moon will release a new album called Universal Themes, via Caldo Verde. The album was recorded in San Francisco and Hoboken, and features percussion by Sonic Youth drummer Steve Shelley. It has songs called “Birds of Flims” and “This Is My First Day And I’m Indian And I Work At A Gas Station,” and … yeah, we suppose that looks about right. A vinyl release will follow later in the year.

The album features the song “The Possum,” which Kozelek shared late last year. You can listen to it below, where you can also find the album’s tracklist.

Sun Kil Moon Universal Themes tracklist:

1. The Possum
2. Birds Of Flims
3. With A Sort Of Grace I Walked To The Bathroom To Cry
4. Garden Of Lavender
5. Cry Me A River Williamsburg Sleeve Tattoo Blues
6. Ali/Spinks 2
7. Little Rascals
8. This Is My First Day And I’m Indian And I Work At A Gas Station

Sun Kil Moon’s Benji is one of our Top 100 Albums of the Decade So Far.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top