PUP, Marie Davidson on 2019 Polaris Prize shortlist

Avatar photo

The Polaris Music Prize has released its shortlist of nominees, after initially announcing the longlist of candidates earlier this year. Among the bigger artists who didn’t make it to the second round are Carly Rae Jepsen, Fucked Up, Operators, Orville Peck or Voivod. The albums that did make the final cut of nominees include PUP’s Morbid Stuff, Marie Davidson’s Working Class Woman, Shad’s A Short Story About a War, Jesse Reyez’s Being Human in Public, FET.NAT’s Le Mal, Dominique Fils-Aimé’s Stay Tuned!, Les Louanges’ La nuit est une panthère, Snotty Nose Rez Kids’ Trapline, Haviah Mighty’s 13th Floor, and Elisapie’s The Ballad of the Runaway Girl.

The winner of this year’s Polaris Prize will be announced on September 16th at the annual gala in Toronto. The winner will receive a cash prize in addition to bragging rights.

Last year’s Polaris Prize winner was Jeremy Dutcher for his album Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top