Umbra Vitae announces new album, Light of Death

Avatar photo
Umbra Vitae

Umbra Vitae, the death metal band fronted by Converge‘s Jacob Bannon, have announced their sophomore album. On June 7, they’ll release Light of Death via Deathwish Inc. Today they’ve shared the first new song, “Belief is Obsolete,” which you can check out below.

Umbra Vitae’s Sean Martin said about the song, “This song came from a demo I recorded at ye olde home studio although, as with all of the songs on this record, we managed to make it sound even more disgusting in the best possible way! I like Swedish Death Metal and Thrash, can you tell?  Big, mean, hairy end riff to carry you out.” 

Bannon continued, “Musically, ‘Belief Is Obsolete’ is signature Sean Martin Bay Area Thrash worship. The performances from all of us on this one are completely redlined from beginning to end. Lyrically I explore the idea that ‘belief’ in the traditional sense is obsolete in the modern age we live in. It is abused as a shield and weapon socially, politically, and spiritually, ultimately becoming a burden for all.” 

Light of Death follows 2020’s Shadow of Life.

Umbra Vitae new album Light of Death

Umbra Vitae Light of Death tracklist:

  1. Leave Of Absence
  2. Belief Is Obsolete
  3. Clear Cutter
  4. Anti-Spirit Machine
  5. Reality In Retrograde
  6. Past Tense
  7. Velvet Black
  8. Twenty-Twenty Vision
  9. Algorithm Of Fear
  10. Empty Vessel
  11. Cause & Effect
  12. Deep End
  13. Nature vs. Nurture
  14. Fatal Flaw
  15. Light Of Death

Umbra Vitae live dates:

June 7  Cambridge, MA @ The Middle East
June 8  Brooklyn, NY @ The Meadows
June 9  Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top