Arcade Fire, Drake, Mac DeMarco make Polaris Prize shortlist

Avatar photo
Polaris Prize

The Polaris Music Prize — which annually honors the best Canadian album of the year — has just announced this year’s shortlist of nominees. Narrowing down from last month’s extended list to a slim 10 nominees, the list includes a handful of heavyweights (Arcade Fire, Drake), as well as a handful of underdogs (Shad, Jessy Lanza) to round out the list. Of course, we’re a bit surprised that Tim Hecker’s Virgins didn’t end up on the short list. That album was just too good not to make it (No. 17 on our Top 50 of 2013), but apparently we stand corrected! Check out the Polaris Prize Shortlist below.

Arcade Fire – Reflektor
Basia Bulat – Tall Tall Shadow
Drake – Nothing Was the Same
Jessy Lanza – Pull My Hair Back
Mac DeMarco – Salad Days
Owen Pallett – In Conflict
Shad – Flying Colours
Tanya Tagaq – Animism
Timber Timbre – Hot Dreams
Yamantaka // Sonic Titan – UZU

The winner of this year’s Polaris Prize will be announced at its annual gala, on Sept. 22.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top