Liturgy announce new album, The Ark Work

Avatar photo
Liturgy The Ark Work

Black metal and noise rock fusionists Liturgy are returning with new music in 2015. After reissuing their debut Renihilation last year, the band has announced The Ark Work, their follow-up to 2011’s Aesthethica, out March 24 via Thrill Jockey. That’s the cover art above, and you can check out the tracklist below.

The album features the same lineup as that 2011 album, and according to a press release, has some more unconventional arrangements this time around:

The album hums and churns with Hunt-Hendrix’s inventive arrangements – drenched with glockenspiels, bagpipes, strings, ritual chanting, and MIDI horns. It supplements its metal energy with motifs from unlikely, disparate genres; cross-fertilizing hardstyle beats, occult-oriented rap, and the glitched re-sampling of IDM and with structures from Medieval sacred music, Romantic classical music, and minimalism. The result is a rich, seething cyber-fantasia that is improbably listenable, conveying the disarming, authentic emotion that is Liturgy’s hallmark – a blend of startling invention, high caliber musicianship, raw energy, and profound, cosmic sadness.

Glockensipels? Bagpipes? Occult rap? This is going to be something interesting, indeed. And you can hear a new track from the album as well, courtesy of NPR. Check out “Quetzalcoatl” below.

Liturgy The Ark Work tracklist:

1. Fanfare
2. Follow
3. Kel Valhaal
4. Follow II
5. Quetzalcoatl
6. Father Vorizen
7. Haelegen
8. Reign Array
9. Vitriol
10. Total War

Read our 2014 interview with Liturgy about their new material.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top